Enjoying Melbourne Life

Happy 2013! After spending the first 3 weeks detoxing from the silly season, the arrival of my parents and sister meant another round of good food and wine.

IMG_2350.JPG

On the first evening of their arrival, we dined at Portello Rosso, one of my favourite Spanish restaurants in Melbourne.

IMG_2354.JPG

We enjoyed marinated octopus with pimentos (salted peppers). I didn’t take a photo of every dish as we ordered the usual dishes such as roasted pork belly, empanadas, smoked duck bresola, air dried yellow fin tuna, all of which have featured on my blog at some point.

IMG_2356.JPG

IMG_2355.JPG

To ensure Sue Mae would walk away happy, we couldn’t pass up on dessert. We ordered a chocolate orange cake and a plate of churros.

IMG_2374.JPG

IMG_2361.JPG

The next evening, I left work early and headed to Rod Laver arena to catch Novak Jokovich and David Ferrer in the semi finals of the Australian Open.

IMG_2375.JPG

Unfortunately it was a very uneventful match.

Thankfully the semi finals on the next day between Andy Murray and Roger Federer was much more exciting.

IMG_2409.JPG

I had the day off so I was able to join my parents, Janice and Mike for dim sum before heading to the game.

IMG_2362

On Australia day, we headed to the Big Day out, hoping to catch the Killers and the Red Hot Chilli Peppers.

IMG_2383.JPG

We arrived early enough to listen to Band of Horses, Vampire Weekend and the Alabama Shakes.

IMG_2391.JPG

IMG_2393.JPG

While we were able to hear the Killers and the Peppers well, we struggled to see them. There were just too many people around that were taller than us.

IMG_2399.JPG

I woke up the next morning with a sprained ankle. Don’t ask me how! I was careful not to jump or dance around. Who would have thought standing around for over 3 hours could give you a bad ankle. It was nice to have my parents around to fuss over me.

IMG_2418.JPG

On Sunday, we headed to Josie Bones in Collingwood. Josie Bones is the brainchild of ex masterchef contestant Chris Badenoch.

IMG_2422.JPG

When he was on Masterchef, he said that he wanted to open a restaurant that offered all types of pork dishes and a wide selection of beer. He stayed true to his intentions.

IMG_2452.JPG

Jeannie joined us for lunch. She had just recently come back from KL.

IMG_2427.JPG

We ordered chargrilled squid with squid ink aioli

IMG_2450.JPG

We tried the pigs trotter stuffed with black pudding and lentils vinaigrette, with maple glazed chicken ribs.

IMG_2449.JPG

I couldn’t wait to try the Kingfish ceviche with goat chorizo and avocado salsa.

IMG_2428.JPG

I’m always a fan of sliders and these pork belly sliders did not disappoint!

IMG_2438

We ordered two serves of pork spare ribs with red miso and lager barbecue sauce.

IMG_2453

Jeannie, Janice and Mike certainly were happy campers.

We continued the over indulgent and highly fulfilling eating day with dinner at Noir, a French inspired restaurant in Richmond. I’ve heard rave reviews about it for a long time and finally decided to try it.

IMG_2454.JPG

The Atlantic gin seared salmon really set the standard. It was fantastic.

IMG_2459.JPG

My favourite had to be the beef tartare. I will come back to this restaurant for this alone.

IMG_2460.JPG

The heirloom beetroot salad was also one of my favourite dishes.

IMG_2462.JPG

My mum and dad had the duck for their mains. It tasted as good as it looks and they were certainly pleased with the portion sizes.

IMG_2466.JPG

My cute carnivorous sister went for the steak! She can’t go pass up on a tender medium rare steak.

IMG_2465.JPG

I chose the Atlantic scallops with cuttlefish risotto. The flavours went so well together.

IMG_2464.JPG

Sue Mae had seared and confit salmon with a lobster tortellini. Delicious! I can’t wait to go back there again.

IMG_2474.JPG

Monday was our Australia day bank holiday and we kicked it off with a much simpler meal. Vietnamese beef ball noodles on Victoria street in Richmond.

IMG_2477.JPG

Afterwards we headed to the DFO for some retail therapy before meeting up with Mae & Jo for dinner at Oriental Spoon.

IMG_2482.JPG

On the last day of their trip, I took the morning off and we tried out South Yarra’s Pacific BBQ house. The roast duck, soya chicken and roast pork were delicious however even with the four of us eating, we still had two large plates of leftovers.

IMG_2484.JPG

Leave a comment